If you’re following the Record Turnover podcast, you might already have heard the new instalment, but here is an update just to let you know. It starts of with a track off of the absolutely brilliant Bad Sports LP on Dirtnap. Along with the Veronica Falls debut, it feels like the two most solid albums of the year right now. Never bothered with Bad Sports before, since I mixed them up with Bad Thoughts, but their first and self-titled album is also worth checking out (Douchemaster, 2009). Thee Oh Sees’ label Castle Face gets a fair showing with a couple of tracks of the new flexidisc book featuring five bands off their roster.

This visually striking collection is designed by William Keihn and features two tracks from Bare Wires, who have their 3rd album coming up soon as well as a European tour. “The Right Time” sounds very promising! Blasted Canyons also appear with two album tracks – here you’ll find another cut from their deafening self-titled debut. Also in podcast are songs from new albums by Dum Dum Girls (still getting better!), Mikal Cronin, The Men, Jacuzzi Boys, and Greek garage sensation Acid Baby Jesus (re-released on Slovenly now). And plenty of great singles to boot – full tracklisting below.


Bad Sports – Can’t Just Be Friends
TRMRS – This Lonely Song
Useless Eaters – Fake Fashion Loud Music
The Intelligence – Sexual Sewer
The Men – Bataille
Gestapo Khazi – Escalators
Bare Wires – The Right Time
Mikal Cronin – Again and Again
The Keepers – Tell Me Now
Lover! – Caught
Dum Dum Girls – Heartbeat
Les Demoniaques – Teenage Lust
Slutever – So Prone
The Honey Dos – There Will Be Blood
Plateaus – Beach Coma
Jacuzzi Boys – Cool Vapors
The Fresh & Onlys – You’re Only Happy When You Know
Real Numbers – Loreen
The Hi-Fives – Love You Better
Acid Baby Jesus – Dead
Jesuslesfilles – Mercredi
Blasted Canyons – Pentagone Gone

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up to our weekly digest!