Whirlywirld was formed by Ollie Olsen and John Murphy in late 70s Melbourne and were a part of the little bands scene. They quickly recruited more members with the intent of making ‘electronic’ music. In doing that, they were pioneers within the post-punk scene of the time – much like Suicide in the US. In spring last year HoZac released a retrospective compilation of their Complete Studio Works 1978​-​80, including nine tracks. It features the same tracklisting as the 1986 compilation on their original label, the now legendary Missing Link. One of the group’s early songs later become a hit recorded by Micheal Hutchence for a film soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up to our weekly digest!